Apologia: The Fullness of Christian Truth

``Where the Bishop is, there let the multitude of believers be;
even as where Jesus is, there is the Catholic Church'' Ignatius of Antioch, 1st c. A.D


The Catholic Day, Week, and Month


Just as the Catholic year has its own rhythm and focus, the Catholic day has its own, as well -- and each day of the week and each month has a special devotional emphasis.


The hours of the day are broken up into the Canonical Hours during which priests and religious pray from the Breviary. At 6AM, Noon, and 6PM the Angelus is prayed. Some lay Catholics pray the Office as well, and some parish churches may ring their bells to signal the Angelus.

Most lay Catholics, though, might pray instead the Morning Offering, Prayer to One's Guardian Angel, and/or make the Three Hail Marys devotion upon awakening, and make a Nightly Examination of Conscience and Three Hail Marys devotion at night, just before bed.

In between rising and going to bed, many Catholics pray the Rosary daily, with the Mysteries differing depending on the day of the week. Throughout the day, attention is taken back to Christ through the use of "ejaculations" (or "aspirations"): very brief prayers -- typically no longer than a few words -- that are uttered when tempted, when in trouble, or simply to praise God and center one's attention on the Holy.


The days of the week each have a different spiritual focus:

Day of the Week

Dedicated to:

Mystery of the Rosary
traditionally prayed:


Resurrection & the Holy and Undivided Trinity


Monday The Holy Ghost & the Souls in Purgatory


Tuesday The Holy Angels


Wednesday St. Joseph 


Thursday The Blessed Sacrament 


Friday Christ's Passion and His Sacred Heart 


Saturday The Blessed Virgin and her Immaculate Heart. 


In addition to the general focus of the different days, there are special customs practiced on certain days of the week.

Mondays are for prayers for the dead.

Tuesdays, in addition to honoring the Angels, are the day for honoring the Holy Face and honoring St. Anthony of Padua. On the Tuesday after St. Anthony's death, the day his funeral cortege took his body to the church, many miracles took place, so this day is commemorated in his honor. A special Novena to St. Martha is also made on nine consecutive Tuesdays (or on all Tuesdays) by some Catholics.

On Wednesdays, many Catholics make a special devotion to St. Joseph by going to Mass on the first Wednesdays of nine consecutive months and offering their Communions in his honor and for the salvation of the dying.

On Thursdays, many Catholics make "Holy Hour," that is, they spend an hour in adoration of the Blessed Sacrament as an aspect of devotion to the Sacred Heart. On the fifteen consecutive Thursdays before the May 22, many Catholics make the "Fifteen Thursdays of St. Rita" devotion, which can be read about off the page about The Feast of St. Rita of Cascia.

Fridays are penitential days and Catholics are to keep in mind Christ's suffering and to sacrifice something for the sake of penance and discipline. The traditional way to do this is to abstain from meat. On this day also, many Catholics make what is known as the "First Fridays Devotion" in honor of the Sacred Heart. This entails going to Mass and receiving Communion in reparation to the Sacred Heart on the first Friday of the month for nine consecutive months (see Devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus). Another Friday practice is to kneel and pray five Paters and five Aves, especially at 3:00pm, the hour Christ died on the Cross.

Saturdays are, traditionally, the days Catholics go to Confession in preparation for receiving the Eucharist on Sundays (some Catholics might make a habit of going to Confession on Saturdays; other might go before Mass on Sunday, and, of course, as always, whenever needed). Also on Saturdays, many Catholics make what is called the "First Saturdays Devotion" which entails going to Mass and receiving Communion on the first Saturday of the month for 5 consecutive months in reparation to the Immaculate Heart of Mary. See Devotion to the Immaculate Heart of Mary

Sundays are, of course, the day for renewing Christ's once and for all Sacrifice during the Sacrifice of the Holy Mass. Because Christ rose from His tomb on Sunday, Sabbath was changed from Saturday to Sundays, or "the Lord's Day." On this day we fulfill God's Third Commandment, to "remember the sabbath day (which means "rest", not "Saturday"), to keep it holy." We refrain from unecessary servile work and fulfill our "Sunday Obligation" to attend Mass.

Finally, each month of the year has a special focus, as follows:



Dedicated to:

January The Holy Name and Childhood of Jesus
February The Holy Family
March St. Joseph
April The Blessed Sacrament
May Mary
June Sacred Heart of Jesus
July The Precious Blood
August Immaculate Heart of Mary
September Seven Dolours (Sorrows) of Mary
October The Holy Rosary (and, less formally, the Holy Angels)
November Poor Souls in Purgatory
December The Immaculate Conception


Back to Being Catholic